Thread: Thread keeps breaking...

Post Thanks / Like

Default Thread keeps breaking...

I must be missing something!! My machine a brother pe770 came in, and I am finally getting to use it today!! Yay! I read the manual before hand so I wouldn't go into it blindly. However, I am just trying to embroider something simple to try it out and the thread keeps breaking. I feel the fabric and it is tight. Am I missing where to adjust the tension. What is a normal tension range? I am extremely new to sewing let along embroidery.

I thank you all kind ladies for helping me get started!

Post Thanks / Like

This is just to let you know that we have seen your question and someone here with knowledge of the Brother will answer you. Unfortunately I cannot help you as I don't know the machine at all!

Post Thanks / Like

I also am not familiar with your machine - but I had some breakage with my machine until I learned the tricks for it. Did you buy new thread when you got the machine? What type of thread are you using? Polyester thread typically is stronger. Make sure you are using embroidery thread. Try the simplest design your machine has and start from there. Does your machine have a speed setting? Can you slow the sewing speed down? Normal tension range is different for every machine. Your manual should explain what to look for. You so not want to see the bottom thread ont he top at all, you want to see some of the top thread on the bottom, but not a lot.
    If you ordered it through a dealer, they should be able to help you get it set up and running smoothly.

gartner is offline I consider every design I embroider a project.
    Post Thanks / Like

What fabric are your stitching on?
    What stabilizer are you using?
    What size of embroidery needle are you using?

Check to make sure you have your top thread is threaded through the thread path right and that it is in the top thread tension disk right.